Oregon’s Helmet Law
Oregon law requires youth 16 years of age and younger to wear safety helmets when riding on skateboards, scooters, and in-line skates in public places. Public places include, but are not limited to, streets, sidewalks, parking lots, and skate parks. Failure to wear protective headgear is a traffic violation, which carriers a fine of $25 for each offense. Make sure that bike helmets are fitted properly, and please remind your children to obey all traffic laws.
ü Use hand signals before
making a turn.
ü Ride single file on the right
side of the road.
ü Look left, right, left before
entering the road.
ü Obey stop signs and traffic
Never let children wear audio headphones while riding bikes. It makes it much harder to hear approaching cars.